time.

so. the reason i have called you here today is to make an announcement. i am officially in a time of transition. i have felt this coming for a while now, so it’s not exactly a shock. but that doesn’t make it any less of a big change.

the big change is:

i won’t be at my job for too much longer – probably 2 months at the most.

a change like this opens up so many possibilities, including heading back to the state of new york. it has been tugging on my heart for about a year now. although i will be sad to leave the friends i have made here, i have to ask with trepidation and hopefulness: could it finally be time? really? or is it too good to be true?

i have loved, and i mean loved, my time in nashville. i have made so many friends. i had about 40 people at my birthday parties each year for my 27th, 28th, and 29th birthdays. i have been in need and in pain and my friends have come around me and held me up. i have laughed so hard i thought i would die, and my friends have been there, laughing and wheezing and crying right alongside me. i have welcomed babies, prepared meals, thrown parties, gone dancing, been a shoulder to cry on, served others, been served, and been filled to the brim with love and encouragement.

i feel like i have lived a lifetime in three years. emboldened by the unconditional love and support of friends, i have tried more things since February of 2004 than I tried in the rest of my 20s combined. i have unashamedly become the amy that i was meant to be, because of the grace of my friends and co-workers.

but the fact remains that my heart is still on a mountainside or climbing a gorge or driving a back road or resting beside a lake in new york state. my heart is still there, in my sister’s smile and my brother’s laugh, in my mom’s wisdom and my dad’s understanding. my heart is still at family gatherings, in competitions, in cannonballs, in hugs, in white christmas lights and snow, in burning red autumn on all sides.

so, i hope it is time. that’s all i have at the moment.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “time.

  1. Just curious, what led you to Nashville? I’m from New York too, but transplanted to FL. One thing about NY is that it does get under your skin.

    If your heart is telling you that you need to be with your family then there’s nothing more to be said right? You’ve gotta do what you’ve gotta do. All the best to you!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

