little miss sunshine

it’s been raining for a bit here in nashville. four days straight, if my calculations are correct. this morning, on the drive to work, i was fighting back tears for no particular reason. i hate unrelenting gloom.

so, when i got to work, and my dad sent me an instant message that said, "g’moorning sunshine," i informed him of my four days without sun, and the pond in the drainage ditch outside my office building, and wah wah i hate rain.

after we chatted a bit about the chili relleno he made last night and his growing mastery of his new espresso machine, he was ready to go eat breakfast.

dad: ok off to mucch
amy: ok enjoyyyyy
dad: u be your own sunshine today
amy: i will

where, if "i will" had been spoken and not typed, my voice would have cracked and i wouldn’t have been able to say one more word without bursting into tears.

i love my dad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

